I Want My Pen Back

quill-175980_640

This morning in prayer I heard the Lord say “I want My pen back.” As a writer that caught me off guard so I asked Him what it meant. This is what He said…

Many of My children have taken the pen out of My hand in the writing of the story of their lives thinking they can do a better job. They haven’t fully trusted Me with the painful chapters they didn’t understand and they doubt My ability (grace) to make something beautiful out of it. They have taken back control and are trying to write what looks beautiful or successful in their own eyes. They have even tried to erase the hard chapters because of the shame they thought they held. I don’t see shame when I look at these chapters I see learning opportunities and the rerouting necessary to develop the character needed for a meaningful life.

  Those harder chapters in their story also contained many divine moments with Me but the memory of those moments of the miraculous have also grown dim. Some of My kids have ended chapters prematurely and written off characters who I intended to have an ongoing part of their story. They have even written in characters they think will make it more successful, readable and popular. Please remember the wisdom of this world is foolishness to me. 

  I am saying to these people now “I want My pen back.” I love you more than you can imagine and I can be trusted with it. I can take this story and make it absolutely everything you ever wanted it to be. I’m going to restore the chapters and the characters that you have omitted and I will create a work of art with your life and it won’t be a work of fiction. The smile and laughter you will experience will become genuine as you discover I am the Hero of your story, it was never intended to be you. Watch and see that I am good and I do work ALL things together for your good!

Phil- 2:3-4 – Do NOTHING out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves,  not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.

1 Corinth 3:19 – For the wisdom of this world is foolishness in God’s sight. As it is written: “He catches the wise in their craftiness”

Romans 8:28 –  And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.

6 thoughts on “I Want My Pen Back

  1. Ha, ha! This reminds me of a story. I am a retired RN. My last job was working on an inpatient psychiatric unit. I was getting ready to discharge a patient who was a “swallower.” Yes, I discovered that my red pen with my name on it was missing in the process of going through the paperwork to discharge her. I had apparently dropped it somewhere. As soon as I discovered that my pen was missing, I immediately ran back to her room. The look on her face told me what I had feared. She had swallowed my pen! I was so angry that she dared to not only steal my pen, but to actually swallow it so I could no longer get it back! My biggest pet peeve was to keep losing a pen and having to find another one, so I started writing my names on them so no one else could claim the pen and I would have to hunt for another one. She did later have surgery to remove the pen and she was fine. I couldn’t help but share this memory.

    Like

Leave a Reply

