Vessels of Honor

I was finishing up my schoolwork and today’s lesson had a major impact on me. Part of the teaching was on 2 Timothy 2:20-21 (AMP);

   Now in a large house there are not only vessels and objects of gold and silver, but also vessels and objects of wood and of earthenware, and some are for honorable (noble, good) use and some for dishonorable (ignoble, common).  Therefore, if anyone cleanses himself from these things [which are dishonorable—disobedient, sinful], he will be a vessel for honor, sanctified [set apart for a special purpose and], useful to the Master, prepared for every good work.

I could hear the voice of God whisper….”I am calling forth My vessels of honor. These are those who have chosen the high road, to do the right thing, to go through the fire no matter how much it hurt. They have stood for righteousness even when nobody else knew about it. I knew about it. I saw the tears cried and I held their hand when they felt forsaken. I am calling them forth now to be filled to overflowing with my glory!”

There will be a purity from what flows out of these vessels and in what they see, hear and speak.  They will shine and sparkle with a radiance that is rare. It’s what He desires for all His children! It’s never too late to say YES to this call. He has made each one of us capable of being vessels of honor to carry His glory.

He leaves the choice up to us. The choice is between being that which is common and becoming that which is holy.

The question is whether we are willing to do our part and cleanse ourselves in the areas we have control over (lifestyle choices), and are we also willing to allow Him to refine, purify, and sanctify us in His holy refining fire?

It costs everything, but I know it will be worth it all.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Vessels of Honor

  1. I’ve never really liked that verse – it means that there are perfectly decent people that God made to be destroyed out there. I remember this line from Princess Bride: “I would sooner destroy a stained glass window as an artist like yourself. However, since I can’t have you following me either …” It occurs to me that God made some people as stained glass windows that he’s just waiting to destroy, he’s built up people just to tear them down.

    Like

Leave a comment